

news release • news release

ISSUED ON BEHALF OF THE SCOTTISH LAW COMMISSION 15 June 2015

THE SCOTTISH LAW COMMISSION: 50TH ANNIVERSARY

The Cabinet Secretary for Justice, Michael Matheson, visited the Scottish Law Commission today, on its 50th Anniversary.

The Commission was established by the Law Commissions Act 1965, which took effect on 15 June 1965.

The Commission has provided reports to Government for 50 years, to reform the law of Scotland and keep the law up to date. Commission Reports are made to Ministers, on devolved areas of the Scots law; and to UK Ministers on areas reserved to the UK. Much of the Commission's work has been enacted, by the UK Parliament and by the Scottish Parliament.

The Justice Secretary said: "Today is a significant anniversary for the Scottish Law Commission, marking 50 years since the day on which the Law Commissions Act 1965 took effect. We greatly value the law reform work of the Commission, which through the years has consistently offered independent advice to Government to improve and update the law of Scotland to fit the needs of society. I extend my congratulations to the Chair, Commissioners and staff on this occasion."

The Chairman of the Commission, Lord Pentland, said: "For half a century the Scottish Law Commission has been an independent voice, ensuring that Scots Law has kept pace with a rapidly changing society. All our work is based on close engagement with people and organisations at the sharp end of legal developments, in this country and across the World.

We remain committed to reforming our law to make sure it is just, principled and in tune with modern times. We are grateful to the Cabinet Secretary for honouring the Commission by his visit today, which symbolises our strong relationship with the Scottish Government and the Scottish Parliament."



The Chairman of the Commission, Lord Pentland, and Mr Michael Matheson, Cabinet Secretary for Justice.

NOTES TO EDITORS

1. The Scottish Law Commission was set up in 1965 to promote the reform of the law of Scotland. The Chairman is the Hon Lord Pentland, a Court of Session judge. The other Commissioners are Caroline Drummond, David Johnston QC, Professor Hector L MacQueen, and Dr Andrew J M Steven. The Chief Executive is Malcolm McMillan.

2. Further information can be obtained by contacting Malcolm McMillan, Scottish Law Commission, 140 Causewayside, Edinburgh EH9 1PR (Tel: 0131 668 2131, Fax: 0131 662 4900, email: info@scotlawcom.gsi.gov.uk).