Responses to Discussion Paper on Defamation

List of individuals/bodies/groups who submitted responses


Christian Angelsen

Dr Paul Bernal, Lecturer in Information Technology, Intellectual Policy and Media Law, University of East Anglia Law School

Francis Berry

Dr Stephen Bogle, Lecturer in Private Law, University of Glasgow School of Law

Advocate John Campbell, South Africa

Professor Eric Clive, University of Edinburgh (initial response and supplementary comments)

Campbell Deane, Solicitor, Bannatyne, Kirkwood, France & Co

Dr Eric Descheemaeker, University of Edinburgh

Roddy Dunlop QC

Sameen Farouk

Dr David Goldberg

Professor George Gretton, University of Edinburgh

Graeme M Henderson, Advocate

Dr Brooke Magnanti

Professor Elspeth Reid, University of Edinburgh

Sibyl (Member of the public, Australia)

Dr Simon Singh, Science writer

Ursula Smartt, Lecturer in Media Law, University of Surrey; author of Media and Entertainment Law

Professor Paul Spicker, Emeritus Professor of Public Policy, Robert Gordon University

Gavin Sutter, Senior Lecturer in Media Law, Queen Mary University of London

Robert Templeton

Margaret and James Watson

Mark Whittet, Executive Director, Scottish Energy News Ltd

Campaign groups

Libel Reform Campaign

Supporters of Libel Reform Campaign (general response)

Insurance interest


Law firm


Media and media-related organisations

BBC Scotland

Tom Brown, Journalist

CommonSpace (Digital news service)


National Union of Journalists (“NUJ”)

Scottish Newspaper Society (“SNS”)

Publishing bodies

The Publishers Association/Publishing Scotland  (Joint response) 

Representative bodies (legal)

Faculty of Advocates

Law Society of Scotland

Senators of the College of Justice

Sheriffs’ Association (nil response)