SLC logo
Sign in
Reduce font size Increase font size

Commissioners and staff


The Hon Lord Pentland

Lord Pentland was appointed as a Senator of the College of Justice in November 2008.  He was admitted to the Faculty of Advocates in 1982 and became a QC in 1995.  He served as an Advocate Depute (Crown Counsel prosecuting in the High Court) between 199141.jpg1 and 1994.  In 1995 he was appointed Solicitor-General for Scotland and held this office until the General Election in 1997.  He then returned to practice at the Bar, specialising in commercial and public law.  Earlier in his career Lord Pentland was Standing Junior Counsel to the Department of the Environment in Scotland.  He also held appointments as a Chairman of the Police Appeals Tribunal and as a Chairman of the Appeal Committee of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.  Between April 2001 and May 2002 he was Chairman of the Public Inquiry into limestone mining subsidence in the Gilmerton area of Edinburgh.  In 2010 Lord Pentland was appointed as a member of the Upper Tribunal (Tax and Chancery Chamber).  Until he took up his position with the Law Commission, he was an Intellectual Property Judge.

Laura Dunlop QC

Laura Dunlop QC took up her appointment as a part-time Commissioner in November 2009.123.jpg

Ms Dunlop is an advocate specialising in administrative law and professional negligence. She is currently senior counsel to the Penrose Inquiry, and has been Procurator to the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland since 2005. She has also been a co-editor of the last three editions of Gloag and Henderson: The Law of Scotland.

Patrick Layden QC TD

Patrick Layden QC TD was appointed as a full-time Commissioner in September 2008.131.jpg

Mr Layden practised as an advocate at the Scottish Bar for a period, then took up an appointment with the Lord Advocate's Department in London in 1977. In that office he dealt with a wide range of legislative and advisory issues, focusing latterly on European and constitutional matters. He was appointed Queen's Counsel in 2000. On devolution, Patrick was appointed Legal Secretary to the Lord Advocate. In 2003 he was appointed Deputy Solicitor to the Scottish Government.

Professor Hector MacQueen

Professor Hector MacQueen was appointed as a full-time Commissioner in September 2009.064.jpg

Professor MacQueen has taught in the Edinburgh Law School since 1979. He was Dean of the Law School 1999-2003, and Dean of Research and Deputy Head of the College of Humanities and Social Science in Edinburgh University 2004-2008. He is a Fellow of the British Academy and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Dr Andrew Steven

Dr Steven was appointed as a full-time Commissioner in August 2011.091_edited.jpg

He is a senior lecturer in law, and an associate director of the Edinburgh Centre for Private Law, at the University of Edinburgh. His research interests are in property law, security rights and European private law.

Chief Executive

Malcolm McMillan

008.jpgMalcolm McMillan was appointed Chief Executive in April 2008.

Mr McMillan is a practising solicitor, and is on secondment from the Government Legal Service for Scotland. He has held various legal posts within government since 1982. From 1999 to 2003 he was the Deputy Legal Secretary to the Lord Advocate, and prior to his appointment to the Commission he was the Divisional Solicitor for the Rural Affairs Division in the Scottish Government Legal Directorate.


Legal staff

Parliamentary Counsel
Gregor Clark CB*

Government Legal Service for Scotland
Heike Gading*
Charles Garland
Lucy Galloway*
Lesley Mure*
Susan Robb
Susan Sutherland*
Gillian Swanson

Legal Assistants
Grant Barclay
Jane Simpson
Lauren Smith

Non-legal staff

Library and Information Services
Emma McLarty*

General Office 
Susan Cutsforth, Office Manager*
Iain Ritchie
Gordon Speirs

Secretarial Services
Wilma MacAskill*
Joan Melville

* Part-Time